OPI Keys to My Karma

A fantastic, uber-flattering pink-based red, from the OPI 2008 Spring/Summer “India Collection,” this was a bear to photograph in a color-accurate way.  In fact, I never managed it, and after looking for others’ photos of it online to see if it was just as difficult…. well, yes, I discovered that pretty much no one captured it accurately.  Frustrating.

At any rate, here’s what I did come up with.

pretty, but not this orange in real life

Yeah, this shows even more orange!

yeah, not it, either

maybe a little better, but now too pink

ALL the above shots were inside, using my OTT light – meaning, it’s supposed to mimic natural sunlight, right?  Usually, Mr Ott combined with my camera on micro and no flash is right on, but not so good at capturing this one.

outside, different day - better

So going outside in the morning light on a different day helped a little, a very little bit.

yeah, still not great, but in this shot, you can see it's almost a jelly.

I would be very happy with these photos if they’d’ve captured the true color of this polish – because they did come out not bad.  Ah, well.  Maybe it’s time of year and lighting – who knows. 🙂

About Satori

I like soft things. And shoes. And cultures. And nail polish - a lot. I'm an INFP/INFJ depending on the day, left-handed, can understand several conversations in a noisy restaurant from tables nearby and consistently sell myself short. I'd love to become a yoga instructor and aromatherapist. :-)
This entry was posted in NOTD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

